HomeNewsEventsRailways to hold design competition for three stations

Railways to hold design competition for three stations

[Not a valid template]

In a bid to transform railway stations into a world-class facility, Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Limited (IRSDCL) has invited architects, designers, planners and students to prepare a new design for three stations. These three stations are Nagpur in Maharashtra, Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh and Byappanahalli in Karnataka. Architects, designers, planners and students can participate in this competition.

Those who want to participate in this international design competition need to register with IRSDCL before the end of this month. Participants are expected to come up with a comprehensive scheme for the station. The winner will be appointed as a consultant to execute the detailed designing.

Railways is planning to provide airport-like facilities at these stations, like separate arrival and departure terminals, digital signages, escalators, conveyor belts, executive lounges, free and paid Wi-Fi facility, battery-operated buggies, food courts, entertainment facilities and ATMs.

IRSDC, is a Special Purpose vehicle and a Joint Venture company of IRCON International Limited (IRCON) (A Govt. of India Undertaking, under Ministry of Railways) and Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) (a statutory authority under the Ministry of Railways). IRSDC has been mandated to develop/ re-develop the existing/new railway station(s) in India which will consist of upgrading the level of passenger amenities by new constructions/renovations including re-development of the station buildings, platform surfaces, circulating area, etc., to better standards so as to serve the need of passengers.  The main objective of the company is to make Indian railway stations of international standards and quality.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news from Sawdust




latest news